Breweries

Rad Beer Company

Friday, July 2, 2021 & Tuesday, July 13, 2021

Rad Beer Company is a new-to-Anaheim brewery located in the old Legends Brewery. The address is 1301 S Lewis Street. I went there on a whim and was disappointed to find out Legends had closed but I was eager to try this new local hot spot. Rad Beer is on Lewis just off of Ball Road. Look for the flag with the cool art and turn there.

DRINK OR DIE

In my research, I found a press release on brewbound.com about Rad Beer. Rad Beer Co. is the latest endeavor by the partners who created Rad Brat, a casual eatery in Dana Point, CA. It is supposed to have opened in April of this year. It sounds like they have big plans for the place like a kitchen that will serve the brats and dogs made famous at Rad Brat. I had to go there twice to get a good perspective and the first day I was there, they had a Smash Burger food truck serving up the most disgusting smelling burgers this vegetarian has ever inhaled. The second day I was there, they had just opened up for the afternoon and no food truck was available. Hopefully, they will have that in-house kitchen going soon and hopefully they will have a vegan option.

The first thing you notice when you walk in is the mural on the wall. It is 1990’s skater-style with some Rat Fink influence and icons of Anaheim like the Big A at Angels Stadium and Sleeping Beauty’s Castle at Disneyland. It encourages you to “GET RAD” & “Drink Local.” I’m in! That sounds like a good time right there!

The mural is signed by the artist, Tocayo. I call him Juan Marante and you can too.

Here is a picture of the menu board. There are 2 of them but they are duplicates.

RAD BEER MENU

Both occasions that I visited, my order was the same. I had a Cloud Bottom, a hazy IPA with a 6.1% ABV. It was definitely cloudy throughout, a bit “New England” as they say. The Old Man had a U112. This was a hoppy West Coast IPA that contained a woozy 7.2% ABV. The total was $15.08 so I think the beers cost $7 each and then they charge tax.

NEW ENGLAND ON THE LEFT, WEST COAST ON THE RIGHT

There is plenty of indoor seating as well as the outside patio area with 6 picnic tables with umbrella’s to block out that horrible California sun. It has a turf rug underneath, giving it a funny white-trash-on-vacation feeling.

OUTDOOR DRINKING AT IT’S FINEST

Next to the bar is where you will find the Rad merch. They have t-shirts, hats, gift cards, and glassware for sale.

LIMITED STOCK, CAN’T WAIT TO SEE THAT RACK AND THOSE BASKETS FULL OF NEW MERCH!

The prices are average for a brewery. I would maybe buy a shirt just so I could remember them when they close down. Just kidding! But the glasses being $10? Wow, why would I pay for something that fits in my purse? Also just kidding!

THE PRICE IS….ON THE EXPENSIVE SIDE. YOU THOUGHT I WAS GONNA SAY “RIGHT,” RIGHT?
HATS OFF, DUDE

Well, that’s about it for the review. It’s not that long because there is not too much to say about Rad Beer. It is pretty rad in my opinion with friendly brewtenders and a diverse selection. The only complaint I would make is that I wish they didn’t charge tax, maybe put that cost into the price on the board. No customer wants $0.92 change from a brewery and the staff doesn’t want it as a tip. Keep it to dolla bills y’all and maybe quarters if you must involve coins.

I hope that Rad Beer takes off and gets a good local following of semi-regulars like Legends had. I will definitely be going back as it’s the closest brewery to my house. But also because they have enticing beer offerings. Check them out next time you are driving on the 5 or the 57, Rad Beer is about a mile away from both freeways just off Ball Road. Drink Local!

Standard

Leave a comment