Beers I drink, Breweries, Out on the town drunk

Mother Bunch Brewing & Day Two

We started off Friday with a bowl in the park.  The Catholic park, that is.  What does “non smoking” mean, exactly?

DSC00044

Fuck your Catholic rules!

 

The Pope was there to bless those waiting in line for their Comic Con tickets.

 

DSC00048

There might be a small child on his knees in the front of Pope John Paul, but we’ll never know….

 

We arrived into the air-conditioned building slightly before noon and we decided to waste our time at a Steampunk workshop called “Make and Take,” which is exactly what it sounds like.  You purchased a spray-painted gun for a nominal fee and then “make it” with rub and buff metallic paints and various accoutrements like sequins and gears into a gun you can call your own and be proud of.  Then you “take it” out of the room and own the shit out of it.

DSC00052

Rubbing & Buffing our way through Day Two

Then we rushed across the buildings to make it to the Ash Vs. Evil Dead panel and made it with a few minutes to spare.

DSC00075

Who are those freaks & why are they sitting so close to us?

Ck won a foam chainsaw for stumping the Horror Show panel and Carie ended up having to carry it around all day.  I’d tell you the question he stumped them with but it would stump you all too so, why bother?

DSC00102

That’s why they call her Carie!

Those panels, and a cruise through the dealer’s floor, took up most of the early afternoon and soon we were finding ourselves drawn outside, into the 115 degree heat, for beer.  The Con board of directors must have figured out that people like beer so they designated a whole block as the beer garden. So, like the sailors of yore, we were called by the siren’s sound of  mermaids advertising $5 beer.

There were food trucks inside the confines of the beer garden and we ate lunch from the Grilled Cheese Truck.  I have to say, it was one of the best grilled cheese sandwiches I have ever had.  It was made with pepper jack cheese and it was melty and gooey and delicious. Although my friend Babra says the Grilled Cheese Truck doesn’t pay it’s bills and she wondered how they were even in business at this event, I still like them and their eats.

SanTan Brewing had the honor of supplying the beers for the event and since we got there halfway early in the day, there were no lines.

DSC00060

We got a superhero’s welcome!

I grabbed the high content Moon Juice Galactic IPA and I was not disappointed.

DSC00066

7.3%  Need I say more?

It was cold and deliciously hoppy with just the right amount of bitter taste.  The old man figured I was onto something good and he had an IPA also.  Ck and Carie had the Sun Spot Golden Ale and they liked it.  I tried some and I found it to be refreshing, although it was only a 5% or something, it was still great.

 

We wasted a good amount of hours in the beer garden, drinking those ice-cold SanTan beers.  The grilled cheese we split didn’t stick to our ribs that much so we decided to spend a little more time walking the exhibitor floor and then we’d go back to the hotel room for some PBR’s and vaping.

That led to our group motorvating over to Wade’s house where we smoked the real smokey and the rest of the night became a blur….J/K!  Although, I admit there was a haze in my vision involved with all the rest of the nights’ events.

Mother Bunch Brewing on 7th street in downtown Phoenix ended up getting our dinner business.  Here is a picture of their beer menu…all the brews with an MB next to them are brewed on site. Here is a link to their website to fully indulge your desires: Mother Bunch

 

DSC00121

The beer menu, updated for your pleasure

 

I checked out the beers on tap menu without consulting the menu board and decided on a Hose Humper Red.

DSC00126

Do Not Consult!  Look to your left and behind!

 

It was number 2 by MB and, as you can see on the chalk board, is clearly crossed out.  Too fucking bad I didn’t check the board first!  Sorry if it’s my first time!  I’m such a tourist!

But the waiter realized my ineptitude and suggested that I try number 3, which was a McBride Red and it was a great substitute for what I wanted.  It had a nice red, caramel flavor and it was smooth going down.  I loved it.

DSC00119

A $6.00 #craftbeer? Not unusual for California, but here? What’s the deal?

 

Ck and Carie also ordered beers and, gosh darnit, blame it on the smoke but I have to say I never did bother to find out what they ordered.  I’m sure it was good because they looked good drinking it.  Good enough to take a picture of, at least.

DSC00123

The happy couple upon hearing the good news

 

Sean, on the other hand, had enough at this point.  The old man didn’t even order a beer from this brewery!  Shocking!  He downed that water like a fish, though.

DSC00125

Geez Rev, you’re all red

 

Carie had warned us that the portions at Mother Bunch are enormous so we heeded her warning and ordered one Garden Sandwich from the menu to split between Sean & I.

DSC00118

Mother Bunch gourmet food menu

 

Since we split the entrée, we got to choose different side dishes.  I got the salad and Sean got fries.  They charged us $0.50 for a side of ranch.  WTF?  Anyways, the food was awesome and full of tasty goodness.  There was a balsamic dressing in the sandwich that was very strong but not overpowering in taste plus it was so filling!

I was very impressed, not only with Mother Bunch Brewing, but with many of the restaurants I visited in Phoenix because they had definite vegan and vegetarian options on the menu.  I didn’t have to order a sammy minus the meat.  Their sandwiches are just naturally vegetarian!  Wonderful!

I will go back to Mother Bunch for more of their beer and to sample the various veggie options they had.  I love Phoenix and all it has to offer vegetarian related.  Give me all the beers on the menu board because i’m here and ready to drink in all of Phoenix!

Standard

Leave a Reply

