Beers I drink, Breweries

Trivia Night @BackstreetBrew, bring it

DSC08966 (1)

Brewery and Tasting Room open for business?  Yes!  Thanks to the injection of balls into my life, many good things have happened.  First, I get to go to the Backstreet Brewery in #Anaheim on days they were previously closed.  So I can now stop in for a #RitaRedAle on Monday’s and Tuesday’s, as long as ball season continues.

I also have found that I enjoy a good night of trivia.  DSC08993 (1)

Even with the Honda Center and the Angels Stadium packed for the Wednesday night, there was breathing room at the sanctuary of Backstreet.  I heard from @paulminick that Noble and the surrounding parking was full up but the trend hasn’t caught on to park at Backstreet.  Even though they encourage it, not many people were parked there for the games. Which is good for me, maybe not so good for Backstreet.  But I prefer a light crowd.

So I found myself with the old man, and my sasser in law, Heather, with her man, @paulminick.  Paul is like, really good at trivia.

There was a conspiracy in his family to withhold knowledge of the Trivia Crack app because everyone knew he would just kick their asses.  And he did.  He is a fountain of infinite knowledge and he doesn’t have the haze of smoke fogging up his brain either.  I was glad to be on a team with him.

LG & heathers wedding 154

Here is a picture of what happens when you get too drunk at Paul and Heather’s wedding back in 2013.  That’s how I know I had a good time.  I still have the scars to remind me.

The beers were flowing at an exponential rate into our bellies.  I had the Jagged Little Pilsner, which I have had before and enjoyed.  At first, Sean tried the Rita Red Ale and it was delicious as usual.  Paul and Heather started out with the Hefewiezen and the Imperial Stout.  The Hefewiezen was cloudy and tasted bland, but refreshing.  You know how certain beers just don’t have a lot of flavor but they taste great going down and you enjoy the drunk you get off of it?  That’s how it was.  The Stout was full of coffee smell and taste and I am glad I didn’t order it, it doesn’t go down fast.  It was smooth and creamy but not what I look for in a beverage.  I’m just not a stout kinda girl.

DSC08978 (1)

2 beers in high regard, at Backstreet

Our team, the Lag-a-lots, did extremely well in the first round.  However, we all missed an essential part of one of the questions.  So when we went for “double or nothing”, we got nothing.  I thought 15 minutes gave you fame.  I could’ve been wrong, but I doubt it.

 

There are six rounds with a varying amount of questions per round.  You write your answers on a blank card and turn it in to be judged accordingly.  When it’s time for the next round, of beers as well as trivia questions, the guy who runs the challenge gives out new cards for the new round.  And so on.  You can answer as a team or an individual.

Well, the competitors seemed competent as they continued to answer questions as well as we were.  We all stayed around the same point score as the others, but there were at least 3 groups ahead of our team.

While I stuck to my #JaggedLittlePilsner the whole night, everyone else mixed it up.  Sean ventured into the Pale Ale territory with a pint of Lucky 7, which had strong spicy notes, and the Trifecta Pale Ale, a 5.9% brew with remnants of lemon and pine.

Not to bring breaking news or anything but we didn’t win.  It sucked.  I hate not #winning.

(But the funny part is that we weren’t…winning that is.)

But we professed that we would go back another night and conquer the trivia challenge.  We also invited our friends Ck and Carie to join us.  With their knowledge we are sure to win.  Too bad the prize is 2 growlers because it will take six of us to win.

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a comment