Beers I drink, Breweries

La Quinta Brewing Co.

I found myself in the desert last week, in the Palm Springs area to be more specific.  It was #NationalBeerDay and grey clouds rested above, making the normally hot weather more hospitable.  News on the radio kept referring to thunderstorms all over the valley but the rain was only happening everywhere I wasn’t.  All the signs pointed to yes, a good beer was in order.

A quick search popped up with the @LaQuintaBrewing taproom that is located on Wildcat in an industrial park.  From where I was, the drive took ten minutes and soon I was finding

DSC09658

parking in the small lot.  It was easy to see from the street with big signs outside.  Aside from the brewery, there wasn’t much action happening in the adjacent buildings.

The brewery is medium sized and well-lit with the menu board up on the side wall and the taps behind the bar on the far wall.  Here is a picture of the different offerings you can try with all the necessary information you need to choose your #brew.

DSC09653

I decided to have the Indian Canyon American IPA.  I liked the ABV, which was 7%, and the IBU’s, which were 80.  It seemed to be a good choice and I wasn’t let down.  It was a nice golden color and tasted crisp and hoppy with a slight bitterness that said, “Hey, i’m an IPA and don’t you forget it!”  Sean had something lighter, the Heatwave Amber Ale.  It was 5.9% so it was not weak, just lighter.  But not in color; it was a reddish brown that prepares your taste buds for the mellow flavor.  It’s a great-tasting Core beer.

La Quinta Brewing Co. is in an industrial area as I mentioned before which makes it a great location for live music.  I peeped around the parking lot in the back of the building and it was open enough for a band to play as well as for a pit to stir it up.  Depending on the band, of course!  Since La Quinta is surrounded by businesses, the view from the windows leave something to be desired.  It’s just blocky buildings with reflective coatings on the windows.  But if the beer is as good as these look and it’s in front of you, your view is just fine.  At least now you will know whom to call when you need Hydro-Scaping, right?

DSC09652

#tastethesunshine

La Quinta is dog-friendly but someone needs to tell that to the dogs.  There was almost a dog fight between two of them with lots of barking, teeth-baring, and low growling.  The brewtender quickly jumped out from behind the bar to help break them up, but the fight was over as soon as one of the dogs left.  It was done as swiftly as it had begun.

I didn’t stay long at the brewery but I easily could’ve had another round or two.  I wanted to try the double IPA called Sandstorm but I also didn’t want to spend the whole day in one place.  I was disguised as a tourist for the week so I wanted to do as much as I could fit into my schedule.  So I bid La Quinta au revoir and set off to have more adventures.

If you’re ever in the Palm Desert and surrounding areas, La Quinta is a cool brewery to hit up.  They have reasonable prices, $5 & $6 for 16 oz beers, and they sell all kinds of merchandise from tee-shirts to tap handles.  Their selection is wide open and should satisfy any type of beer drinker.  I’m not in the desert that often but when I come back I will go out of my way to visit this brewery.  I’ll be passing through on the 10 freeway this June on my way to the Phoenix Comic-Con and a refreshing, cold pint would be better than a date shake any day of the week.  Consider me hooked on La Quinta Brewing Co.

Standard

Leave a Reply

