Breweries, Stuff i do when i drink

Old Orange Brewing Co.

DSC09068@OldOrangeBrewCo has been around for a couple of years now but I haven’t recently visited this great brewery until last Friday night. I heard on twitter that they were offering $3.00 Blonde Lagers. I was hooked immediately. I told Sean, “We are going there tonight!”

We arrived around 7:30 to find that the brewery’s look has changed somewhat. There were about 6 or 8 customers in there sitting at various tables and at the bar. The bartender poured us two inviting glasses of Blonde Lager, which comes in at 5%, and I opened a tab. With half price #craftbeer, who can go wrong?

The first thing I noticed that was different about Old Orange Brewing Co. was the couch they have put in along the wall where picnic tables used to be. There are still picnic tables but just 2 of them. There is a lot of seating for when the crowds pack in at OOBC.

Another new addition is the barrel of shelled peanuts. You can grab a bowl full of peanuts and an empty bowl for shells and you’re set for the night! There was also a good selection of table games you could borrow.

Their Blonde Lager used to be called Backseat Blonde I recall. Not sure why that changed. Their hours are very limited. They are only open Fridays, and both weekend days according to Yelp. But the Friday night that I was there, they stayed open until 9:00. The bartender was friendly enough to let us finish our last beers even though we stayed past closing time. I like that kind of “going the extra mile” attitude of this brewery.

DSC09063

The Blond Lager went down smooth and easily, I think I might’ve had 4 or 5 of them myself!  Their menu selection is diverse and pretty much covers the spectrum for flavors of beer one would expect from a craft brewery like Old Orange.  There’s a few IPAs, a Saison, even a Barley Wine.  Something for everyone!

I will definitely be visiting Old Orange Brewing Co. in the future.  It’s only about a five minute drive from my house so that just increases the likelihood that i’ll go back.  Too bad they are not open more hours.  Make a reminder for yourself to come check this brewery out on the weekends when they are open…it’s worth it!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

